Chakras and their Archetypes

In her book, Ambika Wauters shares the 14 archetypes that govern each energy center in the body. For each energy center she lists both the functional and dysfunctional characteristic for that chakra. Through her own personal experience and utilizing her experience as a healer, she demonstrates both sides of the coin, and uses both male and female anonymous clients to illustrate her point. Most importantly she shows how to transcend the dysfunctional and sometimes functional characteristics to help others evolve along their spiritual journey to the eventual guru status.

This book is a personal favorite of mine and I love re-reading it every year for further insight.

1. Root Chakra

The Functional Archetype (Mother). This Mother is someone who is able to look after their own well being and nourish themselves with ease. They are able to balance the giving of their energy as well as receiving help and resting properly. 

The Dysfunctional Archetype (Victim). The Victim feels everything is happening to them. The victim feels powerless and outside of their control. Emotional victims may have issues persevering after a tragedy. To transcend this archetype they most reclaim their power and ultimately take responsibility for their actions. Being present in the moment and being honest with themselves will help to uncover their truth. Also grounding (getting out in nature) is key for centering this personality.

2. Sacral Chakra

The Functional Archetype (Emperor/Empress). They are firmly grounded in worldly/earthly pleasures. They are comfortable with abundance and prosperity and are surrounded by beauty.

The Dysfunctional Archetype (Martyr).  The Martyr lives a life full of suffering. It feels empowered by their suffering and they expect others to suffer too. Our culture unfortunately validates this mindset. If you want to move beyond this look within and examine past martyr behavior and see what the outcome yielded. Did it have the desired results? Understand it is a myth and it can be transcended. Don’t be afraid to say no and look to other solutions that don’t compromise you.

3. Solar Plexus

The Functional Archetype (Warrior). The Warrior focuses on strength, self confidence, self worth, and personal power. However, on the downside it can create its own set of challenges. For instance if you have the mindset of “I am a hard worker" all you will have is hard work and challenges to overcome instead of flowing through life with ease. 

The Dysfunctional Archetype (Servant). The Servant undervalues itself and does not honor its self worth. They receive little acknowledgement for what they do and feel disempowered without approval. The servant also gives it's vitality and power to others. It can be found in relationships where the partner thinks they are more valuable than the servant is. They are easily manipulated. To move on from the "Servant " mindset stop seeking approval or acknowledgment from others and look within for the answers.

4. Heart

The Functional Archetype ( Lover). It accepts everything as it is and people as they are. The lover is free, open-minded, and can go with the flow. It sees the beauty in everything. 

The Dysfunctional Archetype (Actor). The actor is self sabotaging as it cannot get to close to intimacy because it will open deep wounds within themselves. So they tend to be voyeristic. To transcend this archetype, one needs to look for love within themselves so it can begin to attract outwardly.

5. Throat

The Functional Archetype (Communicator).  The communicator is 100% authentic. Their word is their bond and they realize the value of what they say and mean it as they are highly valued.

The Dysfunctional Archetype (Silent Child). The silent child has an inability to express themselves due to past upbringing . They also feel they don't add value. To move on from this,  begin to “walk your talk”. Saying what you mean and meaning what you say adds credibility to your character.

6. Brow

The Functional Archetype (Intuitive). The Intuitive can make choices for themselves and help others to find their inner wisdom. They have the gift of inner sight. 

The Dysfunctional Archetype (Intellectual) lives too much in the left brain. It is heavily reliant on plans, maps, and future outcomes to control their lives. The intellectual doesn’t consult its own feelings, has limited happiness, and restricts its capacity for joy. It is highly opinionated with sources from secondary places and not its own intuition. To transcend this fuse your intelligence with your feelings. This helps to decide what is better for you which will make you overall happier with yourself.

7. Crown

The Functional Archetype (Guru). The Guru is connected with source. It seeks to teach others their divine potential and it's the highest level of self mastery. They are the essence of love and awareness. 

The Dysfunctional (Egotist). The Egotist is proud , arrogant, and narcissistic. It believes they alone are responsible for their success (opposite of the victim). All  of their focus is in the left brain, the conscious rational mind.

You can purchase the book here on Amazon.

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All